top of page

BIBITTE OF LOVE

Exhibition of Pierre D’Amours
March 23, 2023  May 31, 2023

At the start of each year, according to a ritual reactivated for 7 years, Pierre D'Amours - fishing guide, trapper, storyteller, self-taught artist and native of the region - installs, on the ice of the Matapédia River, a sculpture made from tree trunks, branches and added elements, evoking an oversized insect. The appearance of this giant Bibitte in the landscape, then its fall following the melting of snow and ice, represents for citizens a festive moment of the year: the arrival of spring and their reconnection with their rivers. Thus, over the years it has become the symbol of this pivotal moment in the life of the village.

 

The event benefits a cause because La Bibitte is not just an annual ephemeral art installation. Above all, it was designed by the D’Amours family as a lever to support certain charitable actions in the sector aimed at the well-being of children. To do this, in various businesses and institutions in the village, the population is invited to bet on the day La Bibitte leaves for the sea. The funds raised are shared between the winners and a social mission carried out by a non-profit organization. . It is Petit Chamonix, a local ski resort, which was chosen in 2023 to offer activities for children.

 

This Bibitte, just like the remarkable involvement of Pierre D’Amours and his family in this project which is both promising and unifying for the community, is being celebrated in grand style at Matapédia Station – artistic and community hub. Part of popular culture, based on the observation of nature which integrates a form of regeneration and respect for the environment, the Bibitte D'Amours demonstrates how art and play can be dynamic vectors which bind the population together. for the benefit of the most disadvantaged. The Bibitte D'Amours exhibition at Matapedia Station – artistic and community hub, from March 23 to May 31, 2023, presents images of the different editions, comments and a making of the current edition by naakita f.k., current artist in residence. Bid in large numbers to support Bibitte D’Amours at a cost of $10 per date.

 

Matapédia Station – Artistic and community center aims to be both a new space dedicated to current art and a meeting place for the community. It offers a cross-residency program, exhibition spaces and cultural mediation activities with schools, community groups and citizens. Different activities including art workshops and guided tours are regularly scheduled.

bottom of page

top of page

BIBITTE D'AMOURS

Exposition de Pierre D'Amours
23 mars 2023  31 mai 2023

À chaque début d’année, selon un rituel réactivé depuis 7 ans, Pierre D’Amours – guide de pêche, trappeur, conteur, artiste autodidacte et natif de la région - installe, sur les glaces de la rivière Matapédia, une sculpture faite à partir de troncs d’arbres, de branches et d’éléments rapportés, évoquant un insecte surdimensionné. L’apparition de cette Bibitte géante dans le paysage, puis sa chute suite à la fonte des neiges et des glaces, représentent pour les citoyens un moment festif de l’année soit l’arrivée du printemps et leur reconnexion avec leurs rivières. Ainsi, elle est devenue au fil des ans le symbole de ce moment charnière dans la vie du village.

 

L’événement profite à une cause car la Bibitte n’est pas juste une installation artistique éphémère annuelle. Avant tout, elle a été conçue par la famille D’Amours comme un levier pour soutenir certaines actions caritatives du secteur visant le bien-être des enfants. Pour ce faire, dans différents commerces et institutions du village, la population est invitée à miser sur le jour du départ de la Bibitte vers la mer. Les fonds récoltés sont partagés entre les gagnants et une mission sociale portée par un organisme à but non lucratif. C’est le Petit Chamonix, station de ski locale, qui a été choisi en 2023 pour offrir des activités aux enfants.

 

Cette Bibitte, tout comme l’implication remarquable de Pierre D’Amours et de sa famille dans ce projet tant porteur que rassembleur pour la communauté, est célébrée en grand à la Gare de Matapédia – pôle artistique et communautaire. Inscrite dans la culture populaire, basée sur l’observation de la nature qui intègre une forme de régénérescence et un respect de l’environnement, la Bibitte D’Amours démontre comment l’art et le jeu peuvent être des vecteurs dynamiques qui lient la population au profit des plus défavorisés. L’exposition Bibitte D’Amours à la Gare de Matapédia – pôle artistique et communautaire, du 23 mars au 31 mai 2023, présente des images des différentes éditions, des commentaires et un making of de l’édition actuelle par naakita f.k., artiste actuellement en résidence. Misez en grande nombre pour soutenir la Bibitte D’Amours au coût de 10$ par date.

 

La Gare de Matapédia – Pôle artistique et communautaire se veut à la fois un nouvel espace dédié à l’art actuel et un lieu de rencontres pour la communauté. On y propose un programme de résidences croisées, des espaces d’exposition et des activités de médiation culturelle auprès d’écoles, de groupes communautaires et citoyens. Différentes activités dont des ateliers d’art et des visites guidées sont régulièrement programmés.

bottom of page