top of page

CAMARA TAYLOR

Residencies

Camara creates still and moving images, texts, installations, events and discursive programmes that act as moments of stasis amidst sprawling research. Ambivalence, low-frequency objection, mad methodologies, ontokinetics, spatial relations, the rumor of the ocean, the construction of land and landscape, play with images, objects, events and words situated in the midst of black life in Scotland and beyond are recurring elements throughout their practice. Drawing on diatribe, reel and rambling, Camara works from collapse and bad emotions, towards an unravelling of–

During their residency, Camara Taylor continues their ongoing interest in the life, work and death of painter Robert S. Duncanson (1821-1872) in the context of explorations of Black geographies, embodiments and madness. In an approach situated at the point where preconceptions disintegrate, the encounter with archives and the act of tracing Duncanson's movements through Montreal will serve as an anchor for Camara Taylor.  This research will be used to stage various experiments and multimedia works that oscillate between the particularities of the life of this historical and cultural figure, in relation to the wider spatializations of the Black diaspora. The research-production takes up rumours, myths, representations of contested landscapes and archival objects to think through and against the matters of multi-scalar violence that continue to shape black life, as well as strategies of resistance that oppose it.

BIOGRAPHY
Camara Taylor is an artist based in Glasgow. Recent projects include backwash, Collective Gallery, Edinburgh (2022) ; a rant! a reel!, Cubitt Gallery, London; holus-bolus, 17th Edinburgh Art Festival; IMG_5917, with Sulaïman Majali, Artists’ Moving Image Festival and suspiration! commissioned by The Newbridge Project, Gateshead, and recipient of a 2021 Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival New Cinema Award. Camara has undertaken residencies across Scotland, and screened their moving image works across the UK and internationally. They have participated in programmes including Satellites (Collective Gallery, 2020-2022); Curatorial Directions (MAC Belfast, 2019) and Constellations (UP Projects/ FTHo, 2017-18). Camara was a Committee Member at Transmission Gallery from 2016 to 2018 and Programme Coordinator of the Race, Rights & Sovereignty series at The Glasgow School of Art from 2017 until 2021. They are currently a member of Collective Text.

RECENT EXHIBITIONS
2022    
Backwash, solo exhibition, Collective Gallery, Edinburgh, UK

When bodies whisper, group exhibition, Timespan, Helmsdale, UK

Körper Barrikaden, group, Teile2o46, Berlin, DE

2021    
a rant! a reel!, solo exhibition, Cubitt Gallery, London, UK

slow breath, duo exhibition, NewBridge Project, Gateshead, UK

Welcome

Brunch

November 26

11am-1pm

bottom of page

top of page

CAMARA TAYLOR

Résidence
D'artiste

Witness, Camara Taylor, , 2023
TaylorC_screaming by citation_2019_Photo Credit_S Majali (1).13c9a9a62628337b53fe28ad90642

Camara Taylor crée des images fixes et animées, des textes, des installations, des événements et des programmes discursifs qui agissent comme des moments de stase au milieu d'une recherche tentaculaire. L'ambivalence, l'objection à basse fréquence, les méthodologies folles, l'ontocinétique, les relations spatiales, la rumeur de l'océan, la construction de la terre et du paysage, le jeu avec les images, les objets, les événements et les paroles situés au milieu de la vie noire en Écosse et à l'extérieur sont des éléments récurrents à travers sa pratique. En s'inspirant de la diatribe, du moulinet et de la divagation, Camara travaille à partir de  l'effondrement et des mauvaises émotions, afin de laisser apparaître—

Lors de sa résidence, Camara Taylor poursuit son intérêt pour la vie, l'œuvre et la mort du peintre américain Robert S. Duncanson (1821-1872) dans le contexte des explorations des géographies noires, des incarnations et de la folie. Dans une démarche située à l'endroit où les a priori se désagrègent, la rencontre avec les archives et l’acte de retracer mouvements de Duncanson à travers Montréal serviront de point d'ancrage pour Camara Taylor. Ces recherches serviront à mettre en scène diverses expériences et œuvres multimédias qui oscillent entre les particularités de la vie de cette figure historique et culturelle, en lien avec les spatialisations plus larges de la diaspora noire. La recherche-création s'appuie sur des rumeurs, des mythes, des représentations de paysages contestés et des objets d'archives pour réfléchir à la violence multiscalaire qui continue de façonner la vie des Noirs, et aux stratégies de résistance qui s’y opposent.

BIOGRAPHIE

Camara Taylor est artiste et réside actuellement à Glasgow. Parmi ses projets récents, citons backwash, Collective Gallery, Édimbourg (2022) ; a rant ! a reel !, Cubitt Gallery, Londres ; holus-bolus, 17e Festival d'art d'Édimbourg ; IMG_5917, avec Sulaïman Majali, Artists' Moving Image Festival et suspiration ! commandé par The Newbridge Project, Gateshead, et lauréat du prix New Cinema Award du Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival en 2021. Camara Taylor a effectué des résidences dans toute l'Écosse et a projeté ses œuvres au Royaume-Uni et à l'étranger. Iel a participé à des programmes tels que Satellites (Collective Gallery, 2020-2022) ; Curatorial Directions (MAC Belfast, 2019) et Constellations (UP Projects/ FTHo, 2017-18). Camara Taylor a été membre du comité de Transmission Gallery de 2016 à 2018 et  a coordonné le programme de la série Race, Rights & Sovereignty à la Glasgow School of Art de 2017 à 2021. Iel est actuellement membre de Collective Text.

EXPOSITIONS RÉCENTES, PRIX ET DISTINCTIONS
2022    
Backwash, exposition individuelle, Collective Gallery, Edinburgh, UK

When bodies whisper, exposition de groupe, Timespan, Helmsdale, UK

Körper Barrikaden, exposition de groupe, Teile2o46, Berlin, DE

2021    
a rant! a reel!, exposition individuelle, Cubitt Gallery, London, UK

slow breath, exposition duo, NewBridge Project, Gateshead, UK

bottom of page