top of page

Residency

Residencies

CROSS RESIDENCIES

MATAPEDIA-MONTREAL

This current visual arts project highlights the local heritage by integrating artist residencies, exhibition spaces and mediation activities with the aim of creating a meeting place around art. This exchange project offers both a place of creation outside metropolitan areas and an influence in urban areas according to the needs of artists.

For a 3rd edition of this cross-residency program, Vaste et Vague and Quartier Éphémère invite artists to apply for a 3-month residency at the Matapédia station for artists living outside the Gaspesian region and at the Fonderie Darling for artists from Gaspésie.

In Matapédia, the workshop is located at the train station and the accommodations, independent and central, are located in the village. At the Fonderie Darling, in a small industrial complex west of Old Montreal, the artist occupies one of the studio-housings intended for artists in residence. 

The four residencies of three months each will be carried out, between the month of August 2023 and the month of June 2024. These periods were chosen in order to align with the school calendar in the goal of developing educational activities with schools on the one hand, and occupying a less crowded niche with a view to revitalizing and extending the tourist season on the other. If in Gaspésie, this is an opportunity for artists to fully experience their northernness,  in Montreal, these periods correspond to an intense activity of the cultural scene.

RESIDENCIES IN MONTREAL

December 1, 2023 to March 14, 2024 

or March 15 to June 15, 2024

Housed in a former industrial foundry, the Fonderie Darling has large spaces and offers inspiring facilities for creation and production. The artists benefit from a studio of approximately 60 m2, equipped with a kitchen area, access to production workshops including a workshop for wood, metal, ceramics and CNC cutting.

The residency at te Fonderie Darling includes: 

• Round-trip train ticket to Montreal

• 12-week residential workshop at the Darling Foundry

• Weekly allowance of $400 CAD for 12 weeks

• Production budget of $1500 CAD

• CAD $3,000 fee

• Fee of CAD $350 for public program activities

• Access to production workshops 

• Promotion and support program

RESIDENCIES IN MATAPEDIA

August 1 to October 31, 2023  

January 1 to March 31, 2024 

As part of this residency, artists benefit from a spacious and inspiring studio in la Gare de Matapédia, a heritage building in the heart of a region renowned for the majesty of its landscapes. Located outside metropolitan areas, this residency offers optimal conditions for research and creation, and the opportunity to meet the welcoming Gaspesian community.

The residence at the Gare de Matapédia includes: 

  • Round-trip train ticket to Gaspésie

  • 12-week workshop at the Gare de Matapédia and accommodation in the village

  • Weekly allowance of CAD $400 for 12 weeks

  • Production budget of $1500 CAD

  • CAD $3,000 fee

  • CAD $350 fee for public program activities

  • Access to production workshops possible

  • Promotion and support program

 

 

Artists who apply to this program must submit a complete file via the application form  no later than midnight March 31, 2023 (UTC-4 Eastern Time). Only complete applications submitted via the form  will be taken into account. 

bottom of page

top of page

Résidences

Résidence
D'artiste

RÉSIDENCES CROISÉES

MATAPÉDIA-MONTRÉAL

Ce projet en arts visuels actuels met en valeur le patrimoine local en y intégrant des résidences d’artistes, des espaces d’exposition et des activités de médiation dans le but de créer un lieu de rencontre autour de l’art. Ce projet d’échange offre à la fois un lieu de création hors des métropoles et un rayonnement en zone urbaine selon les besoins des artistes.

Pour une 3ème édition de ce programme de résidences croisées, Centre d'artistes Vaste et Vague et Quartier Éphémère invitent les artistes à proposer leur candidature pour des résidences de 3 mois, à la Gare de Matapédia pour des artistes habitant hors de la région gaspésienne et à la Fonderie Darling pour des artistes de la Gaspésie.

À Matapédia, l’atelier est localisé à la Gare et le logement, indépendant et central, se situe dans le village. À la Fonderie Darling, dans un petit complexe industriel à l’ouest du Vieux-Montréal, l’artiste occupe un des ateliers-logements destinés aux artistes en résidence. 

Les quatre résidences de trois mois chacune seront ainsi réalisées, entre le mois d’août 2023 et le mois de juin 2024. Ces périodes ont été choisies afin de s’arrimer au calendrier scolaire dans le but d’élaborer des activités éducatives avec les écoles d’une part, et d’occuper un créneau peu achalandé dans une visée de revitalisation et d’extension de la saison touristique d’autre part. Si en Gaspésie, il s’agit d’une occasion pour les artistes de  vivre pleinement leur nordicité,  à Montréal, ces périodes correspondent à une activité intense de la scène culturelle.

RÉSIDENCES À MONTRÉAL

1 décembre 2023 au 14 mars 2024 

ou 15 mars au 15 juin 2024

Installée dans une ancienne fonderie industrielle, la Fonderie Darling dispose de grands espaces et offre des installations inspirantes pour la création et la production. Les artistes bénéficient d'un atelier studio d'environ 60 m2, équipé d'un coin cuisine, d'un accès aux ateliers de production incluant un atelier pour le bois, le métal, la céramique et la découpe CNC.

La résidence à la Fonderie Darling comprend : 

• Billet de train aller-retour vers Montréal

• Atelier-logement de 12 semaines à la Fonderie Darling

• Allocation hebdomadaire de 400 $ CAD pour 12 semaines

• Budget de production de 1500 $ CAD

• Cachet de 3000 $ CAD

• Cachet de 350 $ CAD pour des activités programmes publics

• Accès aux ateliers de production 

• Programme de promotion et de soutien

RÉSIDENCES À MATAPÉDIA

1 août au 31 octobre 2023  

1 janvier au 31 mars 2024 

Dans le cadre de cette résidence, les artistes bénéficient d’un atelier spacieux et inspirant dans la Gare de Matapédia, un édifice patrimonial au coeur d’une région reconnue pour la majestuosité de ses paysages. Située en dehors des métropoles, cette résidence présente des conditions de recherche et de création optimales, et l’opportunité de rencontrer la chaleureuse communauté gaspésienne.

La résidence à la Gare de Matapédia comprend : 

  • Billet de train aller-retour vers la Gaspésie

  • Atelier de 12 semaines à la Gare de Matapédia et un logement dans le village

  • Allocation hebdomadaire de 400 $ CAD pour 12 semaines

  • Budget de production de 1500 $ CAD

  • Cachet de 3000 $ CAD

  • Cachet de 350 $ CAD pour des activités programmes publics

  • Accès à des ateliers de production possible

  • Programme de promotion et de soutien

 

 

Les artistes qui appliquent à ce programme doivent soumettre un dossier complet via le formulaire d'application au plus tard le 31 mars 2023 à minuit (UTC-4, heure de l'Est). Seules les candidatures complètes soumises via le formulaire seront prises en compte. 

bottom of page